Club Information Honours Directions Contact

UUJ FC logoUU logo
UUJ FC HuddleIn 1982 a third Saturday team was formed with John McCorkell as Manager. After a couple of seasons in the Dunmurry League they too entered the Amateur League where they successively competed before losing their place following the First team’s entry.

Re-entering the Dunmurry League they were narrowly beaten in controversial circumstances in the Final of the Cyril Lord Shield in extra-time. In student competitions the college teams have traditionally done well, but again not as well as the talent deserves. In the early years the bulk of the players played both on Saturday and Wednesdays and there was a strong spirit in the club re-in forced, with the now defunct Poly Club in Dalriada House as a Focal point.

The Ulster Colleges first senior trophy was the Collingwood plate won in Dublin in 1979, under the Manager Philip Black and Captain Alan Coulter. Ronnie Simpson scored the extra time winner to beat Stranmillis 1-0. The following year the Collingwood was held in Belfast to celebrate the Irish Football Associations Centenary, and the Poly won the Cup defeating Galway in the Final at Jordanstown 3-1. Colin Gilchrist scored two goals and Brain McLoughilin got the other.

To crown a successful Collingwood Poly captain Billy Kennedy was awarded Player of the Tournament. That year the students completed the treble wining the Northern Colleges League and defeating UCD in the All-Ireland play-off. Two Collingwood’s later in Coleraine, the College again reached the final but were defeated by Queens. In 1984 following the merger of the Ulster Polytechnic with the New University of Ulster, the Club reconstituted as the University of Ulster, Jordanstown Football Club (UUJ), and in 1987 the Club again reached the Collingwood final in Limerick, only to be beaten by a powerful UCD team.

In 1991-2 the team won the Budweiser All-Ireland League, and reached the Collingwood Final again.

This time in Dublin they were narrowly defeated by UCD in extra time, in what was described as the best game of student football ever. Jordanstown goals came from Johnny Magee and Frankie Wilson(3). The result was in doubt up to the final whistle when Johnny Magee’s shot hit the bar but unfortunately rebounded to safety.

Reward for individual performances came when five players were selected to play for the Irish Universities team and Frankie Wilson was awarded the player of the tournament. Two further Final defeats (both against UCD) followed before manager John Sugden’s 16 year wait to win a Collingwood was ended with victory in Galway over DCU. UUJ retained the trophy the following season under the stewardship of current Manchester United Chief Scout, Jim Lawlor, with a penalty shoot-out victory against hosts Cork.

UUJ reclaimed the prestigious trophy in Dublin in 2001 under the managerial guidance of Darren Parker. It was another 5 years before the famous old trophy returned to ‘the Poly’ when Shane McCullough led his charges to a penalty shoot out victory over hosts UUC in 2006. 2005/06 also saw the club’s Amateur League team end its long residency in 1B when they won the title at a canter. The 1st team suffered narrow losses in the Clarence Cup semi-final in 2006, 2009 and 2011 however the second team finished runners up in the league in 2010 and the Saturday teams are currently competing in Amateur League division’s 1A and 3A.
UUJ FC Match Action
Over the years Jordanstown has produced a fine array of student footballers. Four have gone on to become full internationals – Jim Clearly, Tom Connell, Stephen Penny, Lee Doherty. Paddy McCoy and Jim Clearly were Ulster Footballers of the Year. Brain Strain captained Portadown to the Cup and League Double and another Championship. When Glentoran won the double in 1988 they contained four former Poly players- Jim Clearly, George Neill, Tom Connell and Paddy McCoy.

In any Club that has survived, prospered and been successful is due to certain key figures. A consistent backbone has been provided by John Tully, Alan Coulter and John McCorkell. At various time through history key personnel have been Gary Steele, Gus Hughes, Philip Black, Trevor Long, Joe McGuigan, John Tully and John Sugden. People like these have been responsible for the club survived the first twenty years and provided the foundations for future generations to enjoy the tradition and pleasure of playing football at Jordanstown. This tradition is being carried on by the current management team of Fra Miskelly, Danny Walsh, Brian Graham and Stevie McIvor.

Collingwood Cup Winners 1980, 1996 ,1997, 2001, 2006, 2008
Collingwood Cup Finalists 1982, 1987, 1992, 1994, 1995
Collingwood Plate Winners 1979
All-Ireland League Champions 1980, 1991, 1992
Northern Ireland Colleges Champions 1980, 1985, 1987,1988,1989,1991
N. Ireland Amateur League 1B Champions 2005-06
N. Ireland Amateur League 3E Champions 1992
N. Ireland Amateur League 3B Runners up 2010
Dunmurry League Cyril Lord Shield Finalists 1992
UUJ FC Huddle
Directions UUJ first team ground share with Nortel FC. The ground is on the Doagh Road, Newtownabbey and access is via Monkstown Avenue. DIRECTIONS FROM BELFAST 1. Head east on Donegall Square N/A1 toward Donegall Pl 2. Continue onto Chichester St/A20 3. Turn left onto Victoria St/A24 4. Slight right onto Victoria St/A2 5. Take the 1st right onto Waring St/A2 (signs for Bangor/Newcastle/A24/M3) Continue to follow A2 6. Slight left onto Donegall Quay/A2 7. Merge onto M3 via the ramp to M2/M5/A12/M1 8. Continue onto M2 9. Continue onto M5 10. At Shore Rd Roundabout, take the 2nd exit onto Shore Rd/A2 heading to Whiteabbey/Carrickfergus 11. At the roundabout, take the 1st exit onto Station Rd/B513 12. At the roundabout, take the 3rd exit onto Doagh Rd/B59 13. Turn right onto Monkstown Ave